Bookish Reviews, Home

Aftershock: An Intergalactic Space Opera Series (The Tradepoint Saga Book 2) by JJ Blacklocke – A Review @jjblacklocke #Aftershock

  • Title: Aftershock: An Intergalactic Space Opera Series (Tradepoint Saga Book 2)
  • Author: JJ Blacklocke
  • Publisher: Aethon Books on January 12, 2021
  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Pages: 435
  • Available Formats: Paperback, Audio, and Kindle editions
  • Rating: 5/5

Trigger Warnings: Graphic Violence

Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Order NowAmazon US (Affiliate Link)

Aftershock: An Intergalactic Space Opera Series Blurb

Stranded amid the stars. Fighting for Survival.

Appointed by the Power in the wake of their planet’s destruction, Gredin struggles to lead her nine hundred grief-stricken countrymen, and provide food for their tables when the Vennans’ supplies were only meant to last for four short days on Tradepoint. How can she comfort them and win their trust, with Tetralanna contradicting and undermining her at every turn?

The Vokastra, owners of Tradepoint, want the nine hundred Vennans gone. Now. And the Hesch, a tall, surly, bird-like race, are furious with Gredin for accidentally injuring their leader, Nitikikani. No apology will suffice. They ban the Vennans from their maartza, ignoring the Vennans’ desperate need for supplies.

Something else is afoot, as well – a mysterious malady that threatens to rob the Vennans of the very gyftes that give their lives purpose and their hearts hope. And Gredin, exhausted and disheartened, fails to notice that she is being stalked by a more immediate danger, one determined to drag her down to ruin.

Or to her death.

The Vennans are back! Join them in AFTERSHOCK, Book 2 of The Tradepoint Saga, a space opera featuring high adventure, mortal stakes, and multiple sentient species. Perfect for fans of CJ Cherryh, Arkady Martine, Wen Spencer, and Star Trek: Picard.

Amazon

My Review

JJ Blacklocke does it again! The Vennans are in my blood. Aftershock is a fantastic follow-up to Refuge, the first book in the Tradepoint series. I was so happy to meet back up with Gredin and the rest of the Tradepoint gang.

I will admit that Gredin disappointed me through most of the book. She isn’t power-hungry, but she is too cautious, and it makes her look weak in my eyes. I miss the strong and confident Gredin from Refuge. Her inability to delegate and take control is maddening. She gets upset when those in her counsel offer suggestions as she thinks they are trying to take control. Yet, when Tetralanna actually does take control, Gredin does nothing. I mumbled very strong words at Gredin while reading.

However, I found even greater respect for the other races stationed at Tradepoint. The Shodekekeen are a delight. I love when they are on the scene. Though, the Hesch and the Beng were disappointing, per usual. There was a new race that docked just before the novel ended. They were also a delight, and I look forward to getting to know them better.

The end shocked me a bit. I now understand the idea behind Bereft (the third book in the series). I am very excited to see where that storyline goes. I chuckled a bit when Figg laid it all out for Gredin. That was an interesting conversation. I have been hoping for a match with Keegan and Gredin, but I don’t know how that would work. Luckily, it won’t be long before I get to read Bereft.

I award Aftershock a full 5 out of 5 stars. I can’t get enough of this story. It surprises me to no end, but I adore this series. I hope you all read it and love it as much as I do. 

Read my review of Refuge (Book 1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s